The World and the Wiseacres – by Pijush Kanti Deb

In the kingdom of wiseacres
wisdom is made captive
and dignified as their own property
and all are automatic to be bewitched
in the use of it
in blind chasing and counter-chasing
of one another
as my sister’s wit chases me,
my brother’s wit bites me
and my friend’s wit barks at me
since my wit makes them foolish
forgetting the chained wisdom-
weeping for its freedom
in the composition of a benevolent epic-
an immortal inspiration to mortal mankind,
but to the wiseacres –
the owners of snake- ears,
the woeful importunity is nothing more than
a tasteless vibration in the air
that can be left unheard.
Nevertheless, the earth rotates and revolves
and the world gives indulgence to wiseacres
acting the roles of deaf, dumb and blind
in the rescue operation of the captive wisdom
from the clutches of the mad wiseacres.

----------------------------------------------------
Pijush Kanti Deb is a new Indian poet with more than 210 publishedor accepted poems and haiku in more than 59 nos of national and
international magazines and journals [print and online] like Down in the dirt, Tajmahal Review, Pennine Ink, Hollow Publishing, 
Creativica Magazine, Muse India, Teeth Dream Magazine,Hermes Poetry Journal,Madusa’s Kitchen,Grey Borders and so on. At present he 
is working as an Associate Professor in Economics.
6 thoughts on “The World and the Wiseacres – by Pijush Kanti Deb

  1. I enjoyed reading this poem, Pijush, and especially liked these lines:
    as my sister’s wit chases me,
    my brother’s wit bites me
    and my friend’s wit barks at me

    Parallelism and focus are important to poetry.

Leave a Reply

